Unable to connect to feed

Hi All,

Recently i have installed Openvas on my kali linux

based on gvm-check-setup there is one error
error: Directories containing the NVT colllection not found
Fix: Run the NVT synchronization script greebone-nvt-sync
sudo runuser -u _gvm --greenbone-nvt-sync

After running this command it unable to connect to
Feed.community.greenbone.nrt(45.135.106.143)Connection refused(111)

Please help as iam new to this

Regards,
Siva Kumar

I’ve just created an announcement Feed.community.greenbone.net not available (2023/04/23)

1 Like

Hi Team,

Thanks for the update. Is there any workaround ? If there is please provide steps in details as i am new to kali linux. Thanks.

Regards,
Siva Kumar

Hello, I seem to be having a similar issue.

I’m running openvas on Kali Linux 2023.1, I was following documentation that was apparently outdated as the openvas-setup did not exist with Kali’s OEM installed binaries, so I went ahead and installed openvas via apt and later found that gvm-setup is used in other instructions where openvas-setup would be, so I went ahead and ran that to set my openvas install up.

I received many errors, mostly to do with rsync and connecting to different servers, and the timeouts here is my gvm-setup terminal output:

(also please note that I’m running as sudo yet still getting permissions errors)

╭─ ~/temp/oscp-training ──────────────────────────────────────────────────────── 1 ✘ ξ‚³ 01:13:26
╰─ sudo !!
sudo gvm-setup

[>] Starting PostgreSQL service

[>] Creating GVM's certificate files

[>] Creating PostgreSQL database
could not change directory to "/home/kali/temp/oscp-training": Permission denied

[*] Creating database user
could not change directory to "/home/kali/temp/oscp-training": Permission denied

[*] Creating database

[*] Creating permissions
CREATE ROLE

[*] Applying permissions
GRANT ROLE

[*] Creating extension uuid-ossp
CREATE EXTENSION

[*] Creating extension pgcrypto
CREATE EXTENSION