Slow NVT Sync SPeed

Hi everyone,

For the last couple of weeks i have been trying without success to sync NVTs, but max speed is ~5KB/Sec, and its taking more than 24hs to complete. Is my IP being throttled? I could provide my public IP to admins to verify.

This is my first time posting here :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance

@the.matranga it’s working fine on my virtual machines. ask from your firewall admin?

Eero

HI. I’m new here and i do also have the Problem that the download rate is max 5KB/s.
This is quite frustrating because an initial Setup of openvas will take nearly a complete week. Is there some kind of initial archive for the feed, scap, cert and data which can be downloaded seperatly ? Perhaps via torrent so the initial part won’t take so long ?
Thanks
BondBart

@Bond_Bart sounds like your firewall or network is bad. You can do the initial rsync on digital ocean virtual machine and just copy files and then just resync.

Whole install on digital ocean virtual machine takes about hour including the compiling the software.

I usually use di machine that contains: 16G ram, 8 cpu and 320G ssd.

If needed then I can just provide initial feed sync with “tar.gz” format…

Eero

Hi Eero. Thanks for your reply. In fact i can download the Kali iso image with the speed of 10MBytes/Sec. So the connection is not completely bad. It is only the sync with the greenbone Servers which takes so long. The tar.gz files are a quite good idea. It should be a general option to get a place where these archives can be downloaded, perhaps via torrent. This would also take some load of the rsync servers because new setups wouldn’d cause more network traffic. I’m not sure which big archive will be the next. I think the nasl files are finished by now and the cpe files are at the official_cpe_dictionary_v2.2.xml.