Trouble updating nvt with script (greenbone-nvt-sync)

Hi All,

I’m new to Greenbone. I have successfully built a scanner from source and for the most part all seems well. One issue I’m struggling with is the update process.

I’m running the community edition and found this post helpful and (it seems) to be the latest on updating?

I configured my daemons to run under the user ‘gvm’ but I don’t login with that user interactively. However, the user I login with is a member of the gvm user group. I’m not sure if that is sound from a security perspective but was hoping that would allow things to work at least. It doesn’t.

Three of the update commands work fine as long as I run them under sudo, those are the SYNC, CERT, and GVMD_DATA updates. The one that is alluding me is the NVT update. When I run that script I get this error right away:

chmod: changing permissions of '/var/lib/openvas/feed-update.lock': Operation not permitted

then a bunch of files download and all else seems fine until the end which looks like this:

sent 4,867,693 bytes  received 8,794,010 bytes  41,842.89 bytes/sec
total size is 358,762,464  speedup is 26.26
rsync error: some files/attrs were not transferred (see previous errors) (code 23) at main.c(1819) [generator=3.2.3]

Checking the UI feed status page I can see that the NVT section stays out of date.

Could this have something to do with the processes running under gvm while I’m using a different acct to launch the updates? Something else?

Thanks for your time,

-Greg

That post is outdated and related to a very old version of our software.

Sadly this doesn’t work. The sync scripts need to run as the same user as the daemons are started with. If you use Kali this user is called _gvm. Our source build guide uses the user gvm.

1 Like

Hi Bjorn, thanks for the response.