Setup on Ubuntu 22.10 - URL NOT FOUND

Hi. I am a GVM newbie and trying to install it on my fresh Ubuntu 22.10 installation. As far as I remember back I installed it like this:

$ sudo apt install gvm
$ sudo gvm-setup
$ sudo gvm-check-setup
$ sudo apt install openvas-scanner
$ sudo apt install gsad

At the beginning GSAD did not start, /var/log/gvm/gsad.log complained about file access issues in /usr/share/gvm and the error message was something like “cannot access file or directory ‘gsad’ - error!”. By trial and error I created such folder

sudo mkdir /usr/share/gvm/gsad

and then the error was similar about /usr/share/gvm/gsad/web so I created the sub-dir

sudo mkdir /usr/share/gvm/gsad/web

after this modification the service gsad was able to start. However I still had an error shown in gsad.log which stated that the redirection was not working. I modified the systemd service file like that:

$ sudo vi /lib/systemd/system/gsad.service

#ExecStart=/usr/sbin/gsad --listen 127.0.0.1 --port 9392
ExecStart=/usr/sbin/gsad --listen 127.0.0.1 --port 9392 --http-only

However, my issue is → if I access the URL http://127.0.0.1:9392 on my Firefox browser I get the error “URL NOT FOUND - The requested URL is not available” and when I view the source of that HTML page I see that is was generated by Greenbone. Means, the site was delivered by GSAD somehow, but there seems content to be missing. I am stuck now. Any help appreciated. Thank you so much in advance.

Hi,

first of all you need to check if the service is running. This can be done via systemd: systemctl status gsad.service. Next you could check the /var/log/gvm/gsad.log file again for additional issues. Also you can use netstat (or lsof) tools for checking if gsad is really listening at the socket.

Just to be sure, did you restart gsad after changing the exec line with systemctl restart gsad.service?