Professional support and other noobie questions

I have no idea if this is the correct forum, and I apologize for my ignorance. I’ll also indicate my up front gratitude for help out of what’s become a spiral of unhelpful google searches and hours of reading the manual and other forums.

I’m new to the software and I’m trying to develop a procedure for a monthly vulnerability assessment of external network interfaces.

1. Regardless of which scan config I use I am not getting helpful results. Most of the configs produce nothing or indicate that "The host wasn’t scanned due to the following possible reasons: - No port scanner plugin or port scanner timeout.
    I’ve created a custom scan config to remedy this, but it hit 1% two nights ago and there’s nothing in the report to indicate if it’s actually still running or why it didn’t complete. I may have asked it to do too much, trying to get it to do anything useful at all.

2. I’m looking for expert help with this, but I have no idea how to find or vet a consultant for what I expect will be possibly several brief phone conversations. Budgets aren’t giant at the moment but I’m happy to pay for knowledgeable support.

This is my first post to this forum and I appreciate your help.

Stay safe and stay sane

Oscar

Hi,

would be helpful to get some feedback which version of our software you are using currently. E.g. if you did use Kali it only ships with a very old, broken and outdated version. See About the Greenbone Source Edition (GSE) category for more details about our releases. Most of the time it is easiest to try our Community Virtual Machine About the Greenbone Community Edition (GCE) VM category to get some reasonable first results.

Most of such issues are caused by outdated software components or wrongly configured OS or services. Therefore we currently can only offer professional support if you are using one of our appliances which have a defined and well known base system.

2 Likes

Hi Bricks,