Database "gvmd" does not exist

1. install kali-purple 2024.1 without error
  2. sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade (or not, the following result is the same)
  3. sudo apt install gvm -y
  4. sudo gvm-setup

completes with errors
WARNING database “postgres” has a collation version mismatch
DETAIL: The database was created using collation version 2.37, but the operating system provides version 2.38

end result being database “gvmd” does not exist, GVM admin user and associated password are not created.

i’m new to this but have done it several time over the last few weeks. recently I completed the steps outlined here Kali Linux Install Guide - Greenbone Community Documentation and without error ended up with a working install of Version 22.9.1

i’ve tried running the commands referenced and manually creating the database but only end up with
“The database was created using collation version 2.37, but the operating system provides version 2.38”

rather than jumping through those hoops i’d like to just install Version 22.9.1 on a fresh install of kali-purple. what would be the github command to do that?

i’d like something like https://github.com/greenbone/openvas-scanner-v22-9-1.git or whatever it should be.

Thanks

The Kali Linux Install Guide provides troubleshooting steps for fixing a PostgreSQL collation mismatch.

However, you would be responsible for building any automated workflows to support your needs. I don’t understand your reason for referencing an older git repository URL for openvas-scanner. The collation mismatch problem is not related to the release version of openvas-scanner, or any other Greenbone component.

The cause of this collation mismatch is because of the updated version of PostgreSQL in Kali Linux. Kali is a rolling distribution and so the packages are often updated ahead of other distros. This places increased burden on the user to manage package conflicts such as this one.

1 Like